Skip to main content

The Tour d'France

Just when I was expecting one of the best tours in the last 7 years, what happens? The two favorites, Jan Ullrich and Ivan Basso, along with Francisco Mancebo, Joseba Beloki and Oscar Sevilla, a veritable who's who in the cycling world, have been suspended from their respective teams for suspicions of blood doping.

It's so hard to watch the tour now. Sure, George Hincapie, Floyd Landis and a number of other top riders, who have a chance of winning, are still in the race, but when the ranks are thinned of the top two contenders, it is sure to taint any victory.

All the cyclists suspended claimed their innocence (would you have expected anything else), but what is surprising is this was not a decision made by Tour officials, the International Cycling Union (UCI) or the Amateur Sports Association (ASO), but was a decision by all the participating teams as required by a

code of ethics that was signed by all teams on January 1, 2005 which stated that no team would allow a rider to compete while under investigation in any doping affair.


I don't know whether the individuals singled out are quilty or not, but to take such drastic action indicates there is strong evidence to suggest they are guilty. Still I don't like the decision. I wish there could have been a better way.

Blood doping is extremely hard to detect, and if that many individuals and teams were involved, then it is likely that the problem is more wide spread then what is indicated here. Some teams may just be better at hiding it then others, especially those based thousands of miles away.

Comments

Becky said…
You mean none of them left are worthy of watching?

I started reading Cancer Etiquette, it's pretty good.
Marc said…
I said
Sure, George Hincapie, Floyd Landis and a number of other top riders, who have a chance of winning, are still in the race

And in the end it may still be a good race, but I'm just concerned this entire controversy will taint the race, and that isn't good for the sport.

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...