Skip to main content

What if Trump Doesn't Win in 2020?



We know what will happen if Trump does win.

A second term will certainly embolden Trump to widen his attacks on immigrants and minorities, destroy the social safety net, that many individuals depend on, and bring even greater harm to our environment.

It will also embolden white supremacists, and neo-nazi's, to carry out more acts of violence and intimidation, leading to greater chaos in this country, destroying the social fabric of the country, and in my opinion, lead to protests (and/or worse), similar to the ones which occurred during the Viet Nam area, and currently going on in Hong Kong.

Now, while I would prefer not to see anything like this happen, I'm not sure we'll fare any better should a Democrat win. I don't see Joe Biden or Elizabeth Warren, or any Democrat, for that matter, being able to heal the divisions, and the wounds inflicted on the US, by Trump. In fact, a loss by Trump may even exacerbate the problems, I've referred to above.

Trump supporters are much more extreme and fervent in their beliefs, and Republicans are very adept at exploiting those passions (something Democrats are not very good at countering). All Republicans have to do is claim fraud, and immigrants for the loss, to ignite extreme actions by their supporters.

Right now, the only answer I have is to allow Trump to be able to continue his systematic destruction of our democracy, further isolate ourselves from the rest of the world, and create even greater chaos, eventually leading to an economic recession/depression, which will hopefully convince even the staunchest Trump supporters, his way is not the way.

The truth is I don't know what is going to happen, nor what is best. I think we're doomed either way. I would just prefer the country fall into chaos under a Republican presidency, rather than a Democratic one.

What I do know is, I'm old, and likely won't see the worst of what is going to happen, but that doesn't make me any less afraid of what, I fear, is about to come.

My best suggestions, stay vigilant, be prepared, and expect the worst!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...