Skip to main content

Quantity versus quality

When it comes to life, it should be a simple decision. Right? Well, I used to think that, but now maybe not so much. It depends on how you define quality of life, and what the alternative is? I like to think, when the time comes, it will be a simple decision for me, but since that time hasn't come yet, how can I really be sure?

Now consider the same question when it comes to food. Is that as simple a decision? For me it is. When it comes to food, I always choose quality over quantity. Still the question arises, how do you define quality?

Some people may equate quantity with quality. Some people may prefer lightly seasoned food. Others more seasoned. Like wine, we all have different tastes and what I like, someone else may not.

I bring this up as a result of the dinner Edie and I attended this past weekend with the wine group we belong to. I thought the food was awful [tasteless]. The portion sizes were large, and the price was right (including no corkage), but the food, IMO, was tasteless. Everyone else though seemed to enjoy it, and the place was packed.

This is the 2nd restaurant out of 3 events we attended, where the portion sizes were large, but I thought the food was awful [tasteless]. In both cases the places were packed, so I can only assume most people (including the people selecting these restaurants for our group) equate quantity and price with quality, and choose the former. At the very least their definitions of quality are far different than mine.

So the next time you go out to a restaurant to eat, think about why you are going out, and why you chose that restaurant? Are you selecting the restaurant based on the portion sizes [quantity], the taste [quality] of the food, or price? Or is it some combination of the three?

I'm pretty sure I'll think twice before attending another one of these events, but then again, how do you know if a restaurant is bad until you try it? You never know when you might find that gem, as we did with the one Thai restaurant we ate at last month. Then there's also the social aspect of dinner with friends, which in some cases can make up for poor quality food. Unfortunately it just didn't do the trick this time for me.

I will say, at least the wines were [mostly] good, as was the service.

[note]And BTW, in case you're interested, my favorite, and best in LA (so far) restaurant is Bouchon in Beverly Hills.[/note]

Comments

Becky said…
I can remember when I wouldn't eat sushi until you exposed me to it. Being a former Galley Wench and Deck Hand I always thought of it as bait!

Last night I had Cajun Salmon and it was delicious!
Marc said…
Glad you enjoyed it.

I probably should have ordered the Cioppino. Even if it didn't taste any better, at least it would have been healthier! :)

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...

When is enough, enough?

Today I learned, Lance Armstrong, the most drug tested athlete in the history of sport, is being accused of doping, again . This time by the US Anti Doping Agency (USADA), who claim they have collected blood samples from him in 2009 and 2010 that were “fully consistent with blood manipulation including EPO use and/or blood transfusions.” Really! What took them so long? The French have been trying to make allegations of drug doping stick for years, ever since he won his first Tour d'France, but to no avail. And now the USADA claims to have evidence to support that claim, and they've waited almost 3 years before releasing this evidence. Needless to say, I am skeptical. Then there's this from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO): Increasing the federal excise tax on cigarettes by 50 cents per pack eventually would increase Medicare and Social Security spending, slightly. Eventually? What is the CBO suggesting here? That we should encourage smoking, because if we don't, in...