Skip to main content

All's well that ends well

Well as it turns out, I got the new bike after all. It seems the owner(s) finally resolved enough of their legal issues to at least sell off their remaining inventory of show bikes, and I was fortunate enough to be offered one.

I even got a better deal than originally expected, as this bike included handle bars, stem and saddle (which the original deal did not), saving me an additional $200+. I did have to buy two water bottle cages, a new seat bag (for spare tube, CO2 cartridges and a tire iron), and a new mount for my Garmin GPS, but those were cheap in comparison.

And on top of that I should be able to get at least $500 for the race wheels that came with the bike, bringing my net cost down to under $2,500. I did buy a set of training wheels for about $200 as a replacement.

The only issues being, the bike is sold as is, i.e. no warranty or liability protection, but hey, what fun is life, if you can't live it on the edge. :) Plus the color scheme wasn't my first choice, but I am growing fonder of it by the hour, and it does color coordinate better with most of my riding apparel.

So I spent all day yesterday installing the miscellaneous stuff, and making the necessary adjustments for this mornings shake down cruise. Things were looking good, but as I've come to expect, nothing is ever perfect.

The fog this morning was intense, and the roads were extremely wet, so there was no way I was going to take my new bike out in that kind of weather. Instead I went to the gym, and waited for the sun to come out, after which I was able to get in about 11 miles, including a short hill and a few overpasses.

I didn't get the amount of miles I was hoping for, but it was enough to get a feel for the bike, and make sure everything was working properly. And I have to say I was impressed. It was stiff, yet comfortable and handled the rough roads better than the Specialized.

I can't wait for tomorrow's ride.

Comments

Larry Henry said…
My brother was diagnosed with MCL three years ago and initially was totally distressed. He found a natural health program, Dr. Day's, and has had a great life since then, three years since diagnosis and counting.
Marc, is there a way my brother or I can contact you? He and you have a lot in common.
Larry
Linda B said…
I just found your blog while searching info on MCL. This is all new to me, my first oncology appt is Monday. Two reasons for commenting to you: (1) my husband is Big into cycling, President of a local road race team, been riding/racing since he was 15 (long time) (2) I've been on disability for workers comp injury/ chronic pain for 10 years now. Not to scare you, but it took 6 years for me to get SSDI. Just so you know, they always deny the first application - standard procedure unless you're a quadrapelegic or something. However, with medical evidence and an oncologist behind you, you may do better than I did. Get a Lawyer to file the appeal, it's really the only way to get through to a judge who can approve your disability claim.

Now, the company disability is a completely different animal. Depending on the insurance contract, your claim and verification from your doctor should put your disability pay through after your waiting period (mine was 6 months). So for 2 years from then you should receive your money without any huge problems. However, after two years they might stop payments - it depends... Did you contribute to the disability insurance premiums at work? If yes, then you are in a much better position to receive continued payments for as long as is deemed necessary by your doctors. If the insurance was provided 100% as a benefit, you don't have as many rights. I can tell you more, since I went through this from 2004-2006. I hope this info, and any I can provide in the future, will help see you through this frustration with less stress.

I hope I don't have MCL, I'm suspicious of the diagnosis without other evidence to point to that, but if I do, it's good to know I can check in with you now and then on the journey....
Best Wishes,
Linda

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...