Skip to main content

I'm not a happy camper

I'm not feeling good [haven't been for the past several days], and I blame it on golf, and the weatherman.

I've hardly been playing any golf lately, and if I hadn't already committed to playing with the one golfing group I belong to, I wouldn't have played last Monday either. I would have also likely skipped out on the tournament had the weather forecast been just a little more accurate.

You'd think weather.com could at least get the forecast right 4 hours in advance. But noooooo, that was not the case.

The night before rain was predicted to start early in the morning, and extend till about 9 AM, and had that been accurate, I would not have gone. Instead, when I awoke that morning there was no rain, and the forecast changed to cloudy with only a 10% chance of rain until about noon, when the rain was to return. I figured by that time I would be done with the round, so I headed out to Corona for my monthly golf fix.

When I arrived at the course, it was a little cold, but I planned for that. It was also cloudy, and the sky somewhat threatening, but I was confident in the weather forecast. So I hit a few practice balls, and then proceeded to the first tee.

Everything started out fine, until the 3rd hole, when as you might guess it started to rain. It didn't last long, but it was long enough to make it relatively uncomfortable. Still I ventured on, and while it never rained that hard again, there was enough moisture in the air to make it  not enjoyable at all. I eventually decided I'd had enough half way through the 11th hole [when I was still close enough to the clubhouse to walk back], which was fortunate, since it started raining as I was driving off the parking lot.

It wasn't until the next day, after going for an afternoon bike ride into the Whittier hills, that I realized what a bad decision it was to play golf that day. My throat was sore, and I was not feeling up to par [no pun intended]. I did go for a short bike ride the next morning, and even went to work on Thursday [I am such a dedicated employee], hoping it was nothing, and would soon go away.

Such was not the case though, as my cold [at least I hope that's what it is] seemed to be progressing. And while my throat is no longer sore (I think the tea and lemon helped that), my nose has started running profusely, and I have been relegated to carrying around a box of Kleenex and a small trash bag everywhere I go.

Hopefully with the sore throat dissipating, my cold is finally starting to run it's course, and I can get on with my life, but in the mean time I've decided to give up on golf. I really have no interest in playing any more, preferring to concentrate on cycling. I enjoy that so much more, and believe it or not, I'm actually better at it.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

Stop the stupidity!

Rural medical center (in Georgia) suspended from vaccination program after inoculating school district staff. Give me a break! Trying to get kids back to school, while protecting teachers, bus drivers and other staff, is exactly what school districts should be doing. If they have vaccines, give them out. We should be giving out vaccines to all who want them, whenever available. Trying to adhere to rigid guidelines will only result in fewer people getting vaccines, resulting in the discarding of precious vaccines, and less protection for everyone. Of course we should be giving first priority to healthcare workers, and any other essential public service employees, such as policeman, fireman, etc. first, but when they're not around to receive shots, or refuse shots, then give them to anyone willing to take them. What I would have objected to is the medical center trying to capitalize on the pandemic to make a profit, from giving vaccines to people far down the list of recipients, but ...