Skip to main content

If it's this bad now

Current TempI actually thought I was feeling good enough to go for a ride this morning, but after checking the thermometer outside the house, those thoughts quickly disappeared.

It was 37°F outside the house, and 39°F at the airport. (We live in our own little micro climate close by a large park, where the temperature is always a few degrees colder than the surrounding area.)

40°F is my cut off point, below which I won't go out on the bike. That's just way too cold, especially when you consider I'm generating a 20 mph wind when I ride, making it feel a lot colder. And this isn't even the coldest part of the morning yet. I expect it to drop another degree, just before dawn.

What worries me most though, is the really cold temperatures (and I consider 37°F really cold) don't typically occur until late January or early February, and this is only December. Winter doesn't even start until tomorrow.

So if it's this bad now, what's in store for January and February?

You know I heard yesterday, 2008 was the 10th warmest year on record. Could that be a sign the weather is changing again, and now it's actually getting colder?

Maybe we could do with a little more burning of fossil fuels, and the production of CO2 gases, to keep in the heat. I doubt you'll here too many complaints from those living in Siberia.

Comments

Gerry said…
Wimp! I got in 55, dress warm...
susan c said…
Are you sure we both live in So. Cal.? Man, you do live in a different micro-climate. At any rate, I'm relieved that the post had to do with the temps and not your blood counts.
Marc said…
Oh, I see, I hit the publish button accidentally before I intended, and then forgot to change the category. You are right though, fortunately it wasn't about my blood counts.

So where do you live in SoCal? You must live in LA surrounded by all those large warm buildings, or maybe you don't get up quite as early as I do. It still hasn't gotten above 50F yet, and the sun is shining brightly, and it's after 9 AM.

This is just far from normal

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

Stop the stupidity!

Rural medical center (in Georgia) suspended from vaccination program after inoculating school district staff. Give me a break! Trying to get kids back to school, while protecting teachers, bus drivers and other staff, is exactly what school districts should be doing. If they have vaccines, give them out. We should be giving out vaccines to all who want them, whenever available. Trying to adhere to rigid guidelines will only result in fewer people getting vaccines, resulting in the discarding of precious vaccines, and less protection for everyone. Of course we should be giving first priority to healthcare workers, and any other essential public service employees, such as policeman, fireman, etc. first, but when they're not around to receive shots, or refuse shots, then give them to anyone willing to take them. What I would have objected to is the medical center trying to capitalize on the pandemic to make a profit, from giving vaccines to people far down the list of recipients, but ...