Skip to main content

Did I ever get put in my place today

embarrassed.gifMy performance on the bike today was just pitiful. I was so embarrassed.

Normally I wouldn't ride on Thursday, as that is one of the two days I go into work (Tuesday being the other day), but the plant is still shut down for its Christmas/New Years break, so I had the day off.

And since the rain is supposed to come in with a vengeance starting this evening, which means it's unlikely I'll get much riding in the next 3 days, and in spite of the fact this was my 3rd day in a row riding, and the Thursday ride is a speed workout, I decided to do the Thursday club ride.

Besides, I'm a strong rider, I was feeling good, and the weather was cooperating. There was no wind to speak of, and temps were in the high 40's (°F). It was a nice morning for a ride.

I just don't know what happened. Maybe it was the past two days of riding (although I didn't think I worked that hard those days), or maybe it was the fact three or four of the strongest riders in the club were there, but there were also a number of other riders, I know I was as strong as, if not stronger than, and I've been able to keep up with the fast guys before, but I just didn't have it today.

I even thought I was prepared as we entered the Bolsa Chica state beach parking lot (after a 5 mile warm up), for what was to come.

As the pace picked up, I had to bridged up to the first 4 riders, but that didn't seem to be a big deal, and I settled in behind the last rider to recover.

But then that rider decided to pick the pace up, and went off the front. Initially nobody went, but that didn't last long. Soon I saw myself dropping further and further back, unable to muster enough energy to hang, watching rider after rider pass me by.

It was at the point when I say the last 3 riders, all of whom I thought I was easily as strong as, if not stronger than, pass me by, and I couldn't hang on, I knew I was in trouble.

It was so demoralizing. I kept trying though for a little while longer. I even thought there was some hope, when I saw the group slow down slightly in front of me, but alas, my attempts were futile, the group was just too far ahead.

I was toast!

So I just did another 30 miles down the coast alone, contemplating what happened, and what was to be.

And what was even more depressing, was when I got home and looked at my cyclometer, I saw my top speed was only 28.6 mph. I know I can go faster than that.

Maybe it's good the rains are coming. I'm hoping a few days off the bike will be good for me.

Comments

Becky said…
I boxed three rounds (knocked two guys out)then played tennis (got my ass kicked )then it was time for some serious bowling. You gotta get a wii for those rainy days.

I actually broke a sweat.
Marc said…
Yeah, I know! I was tired after bowling 3 games at my nephews over Christmas.

It seems everyone but me, has a WII.

I may just have to break down and buy one, that is if I can find one for sale. Of course I could always go to an actual bowling alley, and bowl instead.

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...