Skip to main content

Does anyone else think I'm bitter?

I blogged yesterday, on my other blog, about what I believe to be an irrational fear of "socialized medicine".

Without going into the particulars of my thoughts on the topic, (you can read it for yourself if you're interested), I did get a comment from one of my loyal readers, who blogs in support of the health insurance industry, suggesting I am bitter about my situation, and that is why I feel the way I do about the current state of US health care.

Have I ever suggested to anyone that I am bitter about my situation?

Certainly, I'm not happy with the fact I have mantle cell lymphoma, but neither am I bitter about it.

People get sick all the time, and there is no reason to believe I, or anyone else, should be entitled to some special dispensation not to get sick. Getting sick is part of life. Everyone will get sick sometime in their life, and we all have to deal with it as best we can.

In some regards I actually feel it was of benefit, and helped put a different perspective on life, which is one of the reasons I started this blog.
What I am bitter about is a health care system that treats health care like a commodity distributed according to the ability to pay, rather then according to need.

What I'm bitter about is a health care system that discriminates against the most vulnerable in society, by burdening them with undue costs and pressures, with no regard to the consequences to society, and then rationalizing that it was their fault for getting sick, and/or not planning well.

If that makes me appear bitter about my situation, or that I'm feeling sorry for myself, then so be it. I just don't see it that way.

I only wish others could see the world as I see it. I think it would be a better place.

Comments

Becky said…
Being firm in ones belief does not make one bitter.

You just happen to have a greater understanding in an area that many don't have, yet. They don't have the luxury or misfotune (depending on how you look at it) of knowing what you do now, but you can put yourself in their shoes and remember how you thought about healthcare before you were diagnosed.

As a responsible citizen I would like to think that when it comes to healthcare my country would at least see to it that I am treated the same as an aging inmate in prison.

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...

When is enough, enough?

Today I learned, Lance Armstrong, the most drug tested athlete in the history of sport, is being accused of doping, again . This time by the US Anti Doping Agency (USADA), who claim they have collected blood samples from him in 2009 and 2010 that were “fully consistent with blood manipulation including EPO use and/or blood transfusions.” Really! What took them so long? The French have been trying to make allegations of drug doping stick for years, ever since he won his first Tour d'France, but to no avail. And now the USADA claims to have evidence to support that claim, and they've waited almost 3 years before releasing this evidence. Needless to say, I am skeptical. Then there's this from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO): Increasing the federal excise tax on cigarettes by 50 cents per pack eventually would increase Medicare and Social Security spending, slightly. Eventually? What is the CBO suggesting here? That we should encourage smoking, because if we don't, in...