Skip to main content

Why can't I sleep on Wednesday nights?

Here it is 3:41 AM, and I've already been up for 30 minutes. I had breakfast, put the dishes away, that were in the dishwasher, and now I'm playing on the computer, trying to kill another hour and 15 minutes before heading off to work.

I don't understand it. It's not like I do anything differently on Wednesdays, than I do any other day of the week, but it just seems that come every Thursday morning, I find myself unable to sleep.  I toss and turn for an hour or two, eventually getting up around 3 AM. (Every other morning I manage to sleep until 6 AM, or 4:30 AM if I'm going to work.)

I did go for an easy bike ride in the morning, and then to the golf course to hit some balls later on in the day, neither of which were very stressful (I was hitting the ball pretty good).  Plus I only got one call from work, making for a very relaxing day.

Could that be the problem? Not enough stress!

I didn't even get a chance to take a nap during the day, so I can't use that for an excuse.

Comments

Becky said…
You just love your job and are excited to see you co-workers :-)
Mark VanKirk said…
You can't stop thinking about Lost!
Marc said…
Mark, the only problem with that theory is we don't watch Lost on Wednesday night. We Tivo it and watch it another night.

You know 10 PM is our bed time!

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...

When is enough, enough?

Today I learned, Lance Armstrong, the most drug tested athlete in the history of sport, is being accused of doping, again . This time by the US Anti Doping Agency (USADA), who claim they have collected blood samples from him in 2009 and 2010 that were “fully consistent with blood manipulation including EPO use and/or blood transfusions.” Really! What took them so long? The French have been trying to make allegations of drug doping stick for years, ever since he won his first Tour d'France, but to no avail. And now the USADA claims to have evidence to support that claim, and they've waited almost 3 years before releasing this evidence. Needless to say, I am skeptical. Then there's this from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO): Increasing the federal excise tax on cigarettes by 50 cents per pack eventually would increase Medicare and Social Security spending, slightly. Eventually? What is the CBO suggesting here? That we should encourage smoking, because if we don't, in...