Skip to main content

Some good news, and some bad news

The good news is Edie's Serum Free Light Chain reading dropped to 14 from 16, which at first glance means the Thalidomide is working. Of course, one test does not a trend make, so we really need to do another test, in a month, to see if the trend continues.

Still it is encouraging, and now Edie has decided to reduce the dosage of the Thalidomide to 75 mg per day from 100. I'm not so sure that is the best idea, but since the side effects are causing other problems, it is at least worth a try for a month.

And now for the bad news.

On the way home from work this evening, Edie ran into a tow truck and dented the hood of her car. It isn't catastrophic, but in my attempt to fix it, I did so in such a way that now I can't get the hood open, to try an fix it some more. (Fortunately, she didn't cause any damage to the tow truck or herself, except emotionally).

I only need to be able to open the hood, and have it look somewhat respectable, so I figured I would take it into work to see if Bud, our maintenance guru, and resident auto expert, could help out. Unfortunately, Bud is off racing his dragster this weekend, so now I have to wait till Monday.

I'm not sure there is much Bud can do, but short of taking it to the auto body repair shop, that is the best I can hope for. Of course I may end up taking it to the auto body shop anywaze.

In the long run, that may be the easiest solution.

BIG SIGH

IMPORTANT UPDATE:

It's a good thing I don't have to work for a living. In my infinite wisdom, I forgot that I have to release the hood from the inside of the car, before I can expect to open the hood from the outside.

Bud called and reminded me of that. He also thinks he can get it back to looking somewhat reasonable. So since the car drives fine, I can wait till Monday.

Comments

Becky said…
I take is she's okay so I can say this without guilt. I don't know what's worse, her driving or your mechanical skills.

She hit a tow truck? Was she hitchhiking?

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

History IS repeating itself

I didn't grow up during the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany, so for me to claim it feels like those are the times we are living in now, must be taken with a grain of salt. But I have seen enough movies, and read enough history to know, if the times we're living in now are not akin to the rise of a Nazism and Facism in Europe in the 1930's and 1940's, then we're not far off. If you can't see the parallels with Nazi Germany, then you must be living in a different country than me. Republicans and other right wing extremists will stop at nothing to subvert the will of the majority, forcing their beliefs, that they are the superior race and have been appointed by God, to impose their will on America, while they blame all our problems on immigrants, blacks and Jews. As I speak, Mitch McConnell, and his minions are raising roadblocks to all legislation designed to help average Americans under the guise of fiscal responsibility. They condone violent and verba...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...