Skip to main content

Pet Peeves

Since it's raining today, I didn't have much to do [I couldn't ride my bike], so I thought I'd complain about some of the little things that bug me. I know I'm not supposed to sweat the little things, which I don't [for the most part], but these are so minuscule, I figure they don't really count.

One of my biggest complaints are walnuts, or any kind of nuts, in chocolate chip cookies. Nuts have no business in chocolate chip cookies. Chocolate chip cookies are sweet. They're a dessert, and nuts provide an unwanted texture, and flavor that takes away from that. Nuts don't belong in chocolate chip cookies.

And come to think about it, nuts don't belong in brownies either, but I don't usually eat brownies (I don't particularly like them), so I don't really care. Still they don't belong. They're OK in Snickers, but that's about it.

Another complaint is with people who buy [or rent] a convertible, and then drive around in it with the top down, and all the windows rolled up. Rolling up the windows takes away from the aesthetics and clean lines of the convertible. It's just ridiculous! If you want a convertible, either ride with all the windows rolled down, when the top is down, or just leave the top up and use the damn air conditioning.

I personally don't like convertibles for exactly the reason people do that. It's too freakin' windy, and it can get cold (depending on where you live), when you ride in one with the top and windows down. So what's the point? It just bugs me.

Then there are those people at the gym, who after using equipment, fail to return the weights to their proper storage places. I'm not a very big guy, so removing a 45 lb plate so I can replace it with a 2.5, 5 or 10 lb plate, is not something I relish doing. Hey, I could drop that heavy weight on my toe or foot, and then how would you feel? What's the big deal? You put the plates on, so take them off. It's just common courtesy.

Oh, and I can't forget the few people who find it necessary to do stretches, and/or other exercises right in front of some piece of equipment they're not even using, when there's plenty of open space elsewhere for them to do just that. I hate asking people if they're using this equipment, when I know full well they're not. IMO, that's a stupid question.

Could you guess I went to the gym today?

Those are just 3, or 4 (depending on how you're counting), pet peeves that immediately come to mind. They're not something I get overly worked up about, but they do bug me some. Still, if those were my only problems, I would be a very happy camper.

Unfortunately that's not the case. I've got tons of others, some of which I've blogged on before, i.e. alternative medicines/treatments, the US health care system, work, etc. but they have more to do with a perceived general overall stupidity of far too many (IMO) Americans displayed in their everyday business and private lives, so I won't get into that today.

Mostly I was just upset because it was raining today, and I didn't get to ride my bike. I just needed to vent. :)

Comments

Terry said…
Sounds like somebody didn't get his nap today! (JK!) I agree with your gym gripes, and will add one of my own: people that spray the equipment to wipe it down (instead of spraying or soaking a paper wipe or cloth towel to wipe with). This leads to water getting down where it doesn't need to, and rusting the equipment. Some of the bikes in our spinning classes get rusted in one position and are impossible to adjust! Other gripes: people yakity-yaking during spinning classes; people who come back from the shower dripping water all over the floor in the changing area instead of towel-drying in the little area outside the showers. . .
Marc said…
Ooops! My bad. I'm one of those people that spray down the equipment, and then wipe it off. I'll be sure not to do that again. Fortunately I don't do any of those other things.
Alan Posner said…
You're no Andy Rooney, but still entertaining.

Popular posts from this blog

The results are in

And I am iron deficient, big time. [Which would account for my low hemoglobin] Test Result Ref Range IRON 30 59-158 mcg/dL TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 231 250-420 mcg/dL IRON SAT 13 20-50 % My Ferritin levels were good, but that could be because Ferritin is also an "acute phase reactant", that is sometimes increased with acute or chronic disease. Folate and B12 levels were also within the normal range. The only problem now is determining what is causing the iron deficiency, which in the case of men, is [very] rare. My oncologist has given me a Globin Fecal test to perform, and has scheduled me for a consultation with a colorectal surgeon to discuss performing a colonoscopy, which could be problematic because of my large spleen. In the mean time, I've decided to start taking an iron supplement, it's only the quantity that is causing me some consternation. I've been told by a very knowledgeable person that to overcome an iron deficiency, I need to be taking 300 mg o...

This is just one of those days

It's one of those days you just want to sit around the house and do absolutely nothing, or watch some movies you have recorded. It might even be a good day to read a book, if you were so inclined, which I am not. As you should be able to see from the view out my bedroom window, it is raining outside. The rain started last night, and hasn't let up since. I can't complain too much though, as this is the rainy season, and we do need the rain. Plus Monday's are typically my day off from exercise, so I will surprise everyone, and not complain. I just feel sorry for anyone who might be visiting from, say Argentina, like a friend of mine (fellow MCLer), who happens to be in Cambria today. He might be a little disappointed. Fortunately the rest of the week, when he will be in LA, will be nice, and the real intent of his trip was to visit his son in Tahoe, who works at one of the ski resorts, and ski, so I know he's not complaining too much either. This weather will actually...

When is enough, enough?

Today I learned, Lance Armstrong, the most drug tested athlete in the history of sport, is being accused of doping, again . This time by the US Anti Doping Agency (USADA), who claim they have collected blood samples from him in 2009 and 2010 that were “fully consistent with blood manipulation including EPO use and/or blood transfusions.” Really! What took them so long? The French have been trying to make allegations of drug doping stick for years, ever since he won his first Tour d'France, but to no avail. And now the USADA claims to have evidence to support that claim, and they've waited almost 3 years before releasing this evidence. Needless to say, I am skeptical. Then there's this from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO): Increasing the federal excise tax on cigarettes by 50 cents per pack eventually would increase Medicare and Social Security spending, slightly. Eventually? What is the CBO suggesting here? That we should encourage smoking, because if we don't, in...